The town of Mattapoisett has a long and colorful history dating back to 1640. The name, meaning place of rest, comes from the Wampanoag language. For two hundred years the Village of Mattapoisett lay within the Township of Rochested, but in 1857, Mattapoisett petitioned and became an independent town. The long wharves at the water’s edge, built from a local quarry’s granite, serves as a silent memorial to the once thriving ship building industry on the shores of Buzzards Bay. Shipyard Park, adjacent to the wharves, is the site of Jonathan Holmes’ dry dock where in 1878 the last whale ship to be built in Mattapoisett, the Wanderer, was launched.
For many years, the flagpole in the park was the mizzen mast salvaged from the Wanderer after it was wrecked off Cuttyhunk in 1924. Across Water Street is the famous Meigs’ Tavern (now the Inn at Shipyard Park), built in 1800 by a shipyard owner Joseph Meigs. At the entrance to the harbor stands Ned’s Point Lighthouse, constructed in 1837 by another shipyard owner Leonard Hammond. To this day, the light guides the way of returning vessels into the busy harbor. Mattapoisett remains a thriving community with schools, churches, stores, restaurants, banks, a library, museum, and a variety of businesses. In the summer the harbor is filled with hundreds of pleasure crafts.
Partners Village Store
Head Town Landing Country Store